Robert Brown Distinguished Service Award

The Robert Brown Award is given to a CACCRAO member who has distinguished him or herself within the Admissions and Records profession.  CACCRAO presents this award to recognize the outstanding contributions of individual CACCRAO members and to further the profession of Admissions and Records Officers within the California Community College system.  It is a symbol of commitment to leadership, innovation and professional standards.


The award is named in honor of Robert Brown, the Registrar at San Jose Community College District during the 1970’s and 1980’s.  He was so competent and driven that he held the title at two separate campuses within the district.  Dr. Brown was well known for his generous and open personality – he connected with both students and staff.  He would greet staff from every office on campus and knew all their names, even the names of their children.  According to his son, for Dr. Brown it wasn’t enough to just do a great job as Registrar, it was important to maintain an expression of “humanity” with everyone he came in contact.


After his untimely death, the CACCRAO Board established this award to acknowledge a person each year who exemplifies Dr. Brown’s model of both professional competence within our field and a genuine caring spirit.  Beginning in 1997, the first Robert Brown Award was presented to Gordon Newman from Santa Monica College.  Over the years, CACCRAO has presented this award to more than a dozen distinguished colleagues.


2017 Nomination Form – Nominations are now closed.

Past Recipients

2015-2016 Henry Villareal College of San Mateo 15 years in CACCRAO

38 years in education

2014-2015 Jasmine Ruys College of the Canyons 13 years in CACCRAO

13 years in education

2013-2014 Linda Miscovic Santiago Canyon College 20 years in CACCRAO

20 years in education

2012-13 Alicia Terry MiraCosta College 20 years in CACCRAO

29 years in education

2011 12 Bill Mulrooney El Camino College 12 years CACCRAO

22 years in education

2010- 11 Debbie Rio College of the Canyons 24 years CACCRAO

25 years in education

2009-10    Judy Young    Chabot College   10 years CACCRAO

40 years in education

2008-09    Dan Angelo    San Barnardino Valley College   18 years CACCRAO

33 years in education

2007-08    Joy Chambers    Cuesta College   10 years CACCRAO

37 years in education

2006-07    Don Mast    College of the Sequoias   10 years CACCRAO

36 years in education

2005-06    Kathy Kyne    De Anza College   18 years CACCRAO

40 years in education

2004-05    Elinda Gonzales    Mt. San Jacinto College   23 years CACCRAO

38 years education

2003-04    Jess Craig    Irvine Valley College   20 years CACCRAO

37 years in education

2002-03    Hal Bateman    Santa Ana College   40 years CACCRAO

40 years in education

2001-02    Helen Simmons    Chancellor’s Office   22 years in CACCRAO

28 years at CCCCO

2000-01    John Mullen    College of San Mateo   18 years CACCRAO

40 years in education

1999-00    Lynn Hanks    Mt. San Antonio   19 years in CACCRAO

34 years in education

1998-99    Gerry Fisher    Solano College   13 years CACCRAO

30 years in education

1997-98    Gary Stakan    Saddleback College   20 years CACCRAO

37 years in education

1996-97    Gordon Newman    Santa Monica College   30 years CACCRAO

40 years in education

* Years of service represent those transpired at the time of award